Siemens Mobility completes delivery of Velaro high-speed trains for Turkish State Railways

Siemens Mobility has completed the delivery of high-speed Velaro trains ordered by the Turkish State Railways (TCDD).

Adil Karaismailoğlu, Minister of Transport and Infrastructure of the Republic of Turkey announced early June that the last 12 high-speed train sets ordered from Siemens Mobility had reached Ankara. “The sets will be used on the high-speed 1,213-kilometers line and on lines that are being built and will be put into operation.”

Since June 2021, the whole Velaro fleet is being made available for commercial services. The trains connect Ankara with Konya and Eskisehir. Meanwhile, an additional line to Istanbul, with a total length of 533 kilometers, is being planned for the future.

“Delivering the last train of the Turkish Velaro fleet well ahead of schedule marks an important milestone in our partnership with the Turkish State Railways,” said Albrecht Neumann, CEO Rolling Stock at Siemens Mobility. “Our proven high-speed trains, developed for the global market, enhance passenger experience by providing comfort and convenience. We are proud to contribute to a project that significantly develops the infrastructure of Turkey and enables people in this large country to travel at high speed yet with a low CO2 footprint.”

The first Velaro Turkey was ordered in 2013 and went into passenger service between Ankara and Konya in May 2015. At the same time, TCDD signed a second contract with Siemens for six eight-car high-speed trains. The last twelve eight-car Velaro TR trains were ordered in 2018 and 2019.

The contract included maintenance, repair, and cleaning of the trains for a period of three years. With the delivery well ahead of schedule, a record time for the start of passenger operation could be achieved. On average, the time between the contract signing and passenger operation amounts to 24 months.

The Velaro trains were developed for the global market and are currently operating in Spain, France, Germany, the UK, Belgium, Russia, China, Turkey, and the Netherlands.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *